If you no longer wish to follow a hashtag, but you wish to keep the data and think you might want to resume following the tag at a later date, you can de-activate the tag by visting the My Trackers page.
To stop following an active hashtag:
Scroll to the Hashtag and click on Networks Tab. A pull down menu will appear showing which networks are currently actively tracking. This should reflect the networks that are "lit" in the hashtag box. To pause data collection, and preserve data, switch the hashtag’s active status to OFF for the desired network. The hashtag will no longer be collecting new tweets or posts but you will continue to be able to access the
Analytics and saved reports for the time period is was collecting.
Inactive tags do not count towards your plan’s allowed Active tags.
You can read more about how to pause collection here.
To resume following/ reactivate an inactive hashtag:
Visit the Trackers page, find the hashtag and click on the Networks tab. Toggle the switch back to ON. Your hashtag will immediately resume collecting data, and will count as an active hashtag under your plan.